About Mentholatum South Africa

Mentholatum is a health and wellness company, providing non-prescription pharmaceutical, healthcare, and cosmetics products to consumers. We are dedicated to providing effective solutions that not only satisfy, but exceed our customers’ expectations.

The Mentholatum Co Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Rohto Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd. The Rhoto company was founded in 1899 by Yastani Yamada who opened a pharmaceutical outlet. Rohto is a leading listed pharmaceutical entity in Japan. Rohto Eye Drops were introduced in 1909 and Rohto is now a leader in the eye care category. Rohto concluded a licensing agreement with the Mentholatum Co. Inc. of USA in 1975. The management rights to the Mentholatum Co. Inc. were acquired by Rohto in 1988.

The Mentholatum Company was founded in Buffalo NY. USA in 1889 by Mr A Hyde. The company markets products in 138 countries around the world. The Hyde family of the Mentholatum company facilitated the acquisition of Mentholatum by Rohto in 1988.

Mentholatum South Africa (Pty) Ltd is a wholly-owned subsidiary reporting to the Mentholatum Company Limited in the UK. The company initially known as Hyde Pharmaceuticals, was established in 1972. The corporate entity changed to Mentholatum SA (Pty) Ltd in 1995.

Philosophy

Supporting society

We work wholeheartedly to support society, to help create a better world.

Happy Customers

We delight in constantly challenging each other to create waves of happy surprises for our customers worldwide.

Continuous Improvement

For this purpose we are resolved to learn constantly without pretension, strive toward continuous improvement, and to fulfil our lives meaningfully.

Cooperation

Our people are our greatest asset. Our hard working culture, spirit of close cooperation, determination, passion and leadership provide the fuel that drives the company.

Trust & Respect

We place the highest importance in earning the trust and respect of our associates and our external customers.

Meaningful Existence

We firmly pledge to serve the people, the society and the environment, and are thankful for our meaningful existence.

Relentless Passion

We take pride in setting this supreme goal and we work vigorously to achieve this with relentless passion.

Uys Pretorius

Uys Pretorius

Managing Director

uys@mentholatum.co.za

 Tarrin Brewin

Tarrin Brewin

Marketing Manager

tarrin@mentholatum.co.za

Delia Pretorius

Delia Pretorius

Personal Assistant to Managing Director

delia@mentholatum.co.za

Robert Stevenson

Robert Stevenson

Key Accounts Manager

robert@mentholatum.co.za

Michelle Alexander

Michelle Alexander

Finance Manager

michelle@mentholatum.co.za

Lisa Bell

Lisa Bell

Brand Manager

lisa@mentholatum.co.za

Stuart Stander

Stuart Stander

National Sales Manager

stuart@mentholatum.co.za

Marlize Human

Marlize Human

Responsible Pharmacist

marlize@mentholatum.co.za